Media advisory - Itinerary: Minister Guilbeault to attend the United Nations Climate Change Conference (COP28)

Media representatives are advised that the Honourable Steven Guilbeault, Minister of Environment and Climate Change, will attend the United Nations Climate Change Conference, COP28, from November 30 to December 12, 2023.

Media advisory - Itinerary: Minister Guilbeault to attend the United Nations Climate Change Conference (COP28)

DUBAI, UAE, Nov. 30, 2023 /CNW/ - Media representatives are advised that the Honourable Steven Guilbeault, Minister of Environment and Climate Change, will attend the United Nations Climate Change Conference, COP28, from November 30 to December 12, 2023.

Note to media: Events are open to reporters who obtained accreditation for COP28 through the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC).

Events taking place at the Canada Pavilion will not be livestreamed. However, some events and meetings will be livestreamed from the United Nations Climate Change YouTube page.

Schedule of events for Friday, December 1, 2023

Event:

         Canada Pavilion Opening Ceremony

Time:

         12:00 a.m. (EST) / 9:00 a.m. (GST)

Location:

          Canada Pavilion

Event:

          Launch of the Vietnam Just Energy Transition Partnership Resources Mobilization Plan

Time:

          7:30 a.m. (EST) / 4:30 p.m. (GST)

Location:

          European Union Pavilion

Note to media: This will be a photo opportunity only.

Event:

         How It Works: Workers' Role in Just Transition

Time:

         8:30 a.m. (EST) / 5:30 p.m. (GST)

Location:

        Canada Pavilion

Event:

         Media Availability

Time:

         9:30 a.m. (EST) / 6:30 p.m. (GST)

Location:

        Zoom

Media representatives are asked to register for this hybrid event by contacting Media Relations at Environment and Climate Change Canada to obtain more details.

Schedule of events for Saturday, December 2, 2023

Event:

         Climate Misinformation and Polarization: Issues and Solutions in Canada and Around the World

Time:

         3:30 a.m. (EST) / 12:30 p.m. (GST)

Location:

         Canada Pavilion

Schedule of events for Sunday, December 3, 2023

Event:

         Building Climate Resilient Health Systems at Local and Global Scales

Time:

         4:30 a.m. (EST) / 1:30 p.m. (GST)

Location:

         Canada Pavilion

Event:

         Leaving No One Behind: Collaborating to Scale Up Early

Time:

         7:00 a.m. (EST) / 4:00 p.m. (GST)

Location:

         Canada Pavilion

Schedule of events for Monday, December 4, 2023

Event:

         Indigenous Peoples' Perspectives and Experiences on Loss and Damage in Canada

Time:

         12:00 a.m. (EST) / 9:00 a.m. (GST)

Location:

         Canada Pavilion

Event:

         Fossil Fuel Subsidy Reform: Bridging Discussions and Trade Forum

Time:

         4:00 a.m. (EST) / 1:00 p.m. (GST)

Location:

         Finland Pavilion

Event:

         Inuit-Led Conservation in a Changing Climate

Time:

         6:15 a.m. (EST) / 3:15 p.m. (GST)

Location:

        Canada Pavilion

Event:

         Ministerial Announcement During COP28 Global Methane Pledge

Time:

         9:30 a.m. (EST) / 6:30 p.m. (GST)

Location:

        Side Event Room 6, Blue Zone

Schedule of events for Tuesday, December 5, 2023

Event:

          Powering Past Coal Alliance (PPCA) Event

Time:

          8:45 a.m. (EST) / 5:45 p.m. (GST)

Location:

          United Kingdom Pavilion

Schedule of events for Wednesday, December 6, 2023

Event:

         How Canada Can Make Rapid, Tangible Progress on Climate Adaptation

Time:

         4:30 a.m. (EST) / 1:30 p.m. (GST)

Location:

         Canada Pavilion

Environment and Climate Change Canada's Twitter page

Environment and Climate Change Canada's Facebook page

SOURCE Environment and Climate Change Canada

Cision

Cision

View original content: http://www.newswire.ca/en/releases/archive/November2023/30/c8806.html